Genealogy DNA Test

Genealogy is a practice which aims to find the kinship and filiation of people. Genealogy is therefore considered a science of history which allows the memory of a family to be traced based on documents, oral interviews or genetics .

There are generally two types of genealogy:

- Ascending Genealogy

The ascending genealogy starts from an individual and aims to search for his ancestors. It is this person who will be at the base of a family tree and by going back appear the parents, then his grandparents ...

- Genealogy Descent

Descending genealogy is concerned with the descendants of a given person or couple and aims to find all descendants. This can be used to determine cousin ties between people. Mathematically, the further away the ancestor is in time, the more potential descendants he can have.

Classic genealogy is practiced from an archive and document allowing the research of the ancestry or the descent of a person. This research sheds light on any statement that can explain and prove the relationship between members of a family over several generations.

You can thus use acts of civil status, notarial or legal archives, religious registers or any official or unwritten or oral document that can help you in your process. For example :

- Birth certificate

- Family record book

- Testament

- Marriage certificate

- Property title

- Certificate and notice of death

In addition today you have several institutions and companies providing information and archives to guide you in your genealogy research. For example the Familysearch site gives you access to family trees of individuals and offers you to connect your own. But also Ancestry which helps you create your family tree by keeping your information throughout your research.

Genetic genealogy is a discipline based on the study of an individual's DNA by a genetic laboratory. In order to carry out several tests in comparison with a database which includes anthropological information , but also the genetic fingerprints of all the people tested .

This analysis leads to two types of results:

 

- An estimate of the geographical origins of the individual

 

- A list of genetic matches or "matches":

These are people who have performed a test at the same laboratory, who share DNA markers and therefore a genetic link with you. This list is provided with an estimate of the rate of shared DNA, which gives an idea of ​​the relationship.

The interest of DNA tests in genealogy:

DNA tests give you the possibility of having access to a database which is continuously enriched . If during your test you did not find a reliable connection to add to your genealogy, it is possible that in the future new people may be tested and provide you with the missing information for your research.

- Geographical origins :

Know the percentage of ethnic origin of your DNA and its geographic location. Origin predictions allow you to learn more about the origin of your ancestors in history. Depending on the tests you may also have access to historical data on population migrations, which can guide your classic genealogical research.

- Build your genetic tree:

DNA testing will allow you to check whether your family tree merges with your genetic tree. So you can relate the information about your classic genealogy and the genetic matches that the DNA test can bring you.

It can also identify new genetic branches for you by relating your family tree to that of a 3rd, 4th or 5th degree cousin depending on the results.

- Find unknown parents:

In the event that your family tree contains blanks such as an adoption, or child of a foreign soldier for example. Genetic genealogy gives you a chance to fill this void and trace the lineage of your biological ancestors.

 

There are 3 main types of genealogical DNA test:

- The Autosomal DNA test

- The Mitochondrial DNA test

- The Y Chromosome DNA test

The autosomal DNA test is an analysis of all chromosomes not involved in determining a person's sex. An autosome is therefore a non-sexual chromosome which holds almost the majority of a person's genetic information.

This analysis makes it possible to identify variants in the composition of a gene (NHPs) in order to compare them to a database composed of information concerning all types of known DNA variants . In order to create genetic matches between people with the same variants.

The correspondence between individuals is generally defined in centimorgan (cM) which represents the unit of measurement of a genetic link. This will let you know the relationship estimate that you can share with other people already tested in the lab's database.

Thus, the reliability of the autosomal DNA test depends on:

 

- Genetic information held by the laboratory on the populations compared

- The number of markers used

- The value of the genetic variations (NHP) tested

- The degree of mixing in the person tested

 

Previous estimates for this test were often very imprecise, but their accuracy has improved significantly with the increase in the number of participants and the information collected.

The particularity of the autosomal DNA test

This autosomal DNA analysis therefore makes it possible to identify the gene variations (mutation) that you have inherited from your family from generation to generation . But it is quite possible that two people from the same family (siblings) do not share the same results.

The genetic heritage of each human being is composed of half of the genetic heritage of his father and the other half of that of his mother . But each child randomly inherits genes from their parents. Thus each has a different and unique genetic heritage .

Under these conditions, the tiny genetic mutations present on our chromosomes which are used to establish the results of the autosomal DNA test will not necessarily be the same for two children of the same siblings.

To improve the reliability of your research, it is therefore recommended that several people from the same family participate in this test in order to always refine the accuracy of the information.

X Chromosome DNA Test

Analysis of the X sex chromosome is often included in the autosomal DNA test. All men and women receive an X chromosome from their mother, but only women receive a second X chromosome from their father.

Tracking the inherited lineage of the X chromosome is helpful in dramatically reducing the possibility of a relationship and improving the accuracy of the autosomal DNA test report . Because a match of the X chromosome with a man can only come from his maternal side. Like autosomal DNA, DNA from the X chromosome is passed down randomly in each generation, with the exception of the X chromosomes from father to daughter, which are passed on unchanged .

Mitochondria is an autonomous structure present in all human cells . This component has the particularity of having its own DNA, and its function is to provide energy to the cell allowing it to become completely autonomous in turn.

The mitochondria and therefore its mitochondrial DNA is transmitted only by the mother to all her children . This transmission is completely identical from generation to generation   because mutations in mitochondrial DNA are extremely rare.

The mitochondrial DNA test consists of analyzing the markers of this DNA, in order to define your maternal line with great precision. It can be done by men and women for genealogical research as well as for relationship testing.

DNA relationship test

Mitochondrial DNA testing can also be used to confirm the biological relationship between two people, since all individuals of the same lineage are assumed to have an identical copy of that DNA.

The mitochondrial DNA test allows with great certainty to confirm a relationship of maternity, fraternity or filiation between two or more people.

On the other hand, the analysis of Mitochondrial DNA cannot distinguish a specific relationship between women belonging to the same maternal line.

The mitochondrial DNA Haplogroup

Haplogroups are large groups of people with common characteristics and correspond to the great waves of migrations through prehistory and history . Belonging to one group rather than another will help guide your genealogical research to people or parts of the world who share your haplogroup.

The story of the Mitochondrial Eve:

It is the name given to a hypothetical woman considered to be the most recent common ancestor by maternal line of Humanity. Its existence is attested by the demonstration that there is a unique lineage of mitochondria in the cells of all humans. Indeed by going up the chain of events of a maternal line, we inevitably arrive at a woman who still has today an exceptional line of female descendant . Although this person could not have been identified during his lifetime.

The Y chromosome is one of two sex chromosomes in humans. It is part of the XY sex determination system, which every person has in the cells of their body.

- Men have one Y chromosome and one X chromosome - (XY) -

- Women have two X chromosomes - (XX) -

The peculiarity of the Y chromosome is that only men have it because it is only transmitted from father to son during fertilization. In addition, this transmission is such that the possibility of mutation is rare, so the Y chromosome remains unchanged over the generations.

The Y chromosome DNA test consists of analyzing the markers of this DNA, in order to define your paternal line with great precision. It can be done by men for genealogical research as well as for relationship testing.

DNA relationship test

The Y chromosome DNA test can also be used to confirm the biological relationship between two people, since all individuals of the same lineage are assumed to have an identical copy of that DNA.

The Y chromosome DNA test allows with great certainty to confirm a relationship of paternity, fraternity or filiation between two or more people.

On the other hand, the analysis of the DNA of the Y chromosome cannot distinguish a specific relationship between men belonging to the same paternal line.

Y chromosome DNA Haplogroups

Haplogroups are large population groups with common characteristics and correspond to large waves of migrations through prehistory and history . Belonging to one group rather than another will help guide your genealogical research to people or regions of the world who share your haplogroup.

The Autosomal DNA Test

The Mitochondrial DNA Test

The Y Chromosome DNA Test

 
 
 

We have selected 4 laboratories that we recommend because of the quality of the service and the reliability of the results they offer. But each laboratory has its advantages and disadvantages, the choice of a test will depend on your profile, your situation and your objectives.

 

We start from the principle that if you want to have as much information as possible about your genealogy, then it is recommended to do genetic tests on all the databases that exist. This will allow you to increase the rate of identifiable genetic relationships in order to speed up your research.

The laboratories we recommend for a Genealogy test:

You want to know your ethnic and geographical origins:

- We recommend that you start by doing a test at 23andMe which offers greater precision on the estimation of geographical origins. Geographic areas even target your home regions within a country, with fairly convincing results.

You want to complete your family tree:

- If your research concerns your origins around the world and especially in America, Ancestry is the best choice because they have the largest database. You can also create your family tree and have access to the correspondence association of your relationships.

- If your research concerns European origins, we advise you to use the MyHeritage databases which brings together more information on the origins of peoples' countries in Europe . You can also create your family tree and associate corresponding relationships (matches).

You are looking for an unknown relative:

- We recommend that you start by doing DNA testing of the Y chromosome or mitochondrial DNA at FamilytreeDNA . This type of test which is not offered elsewhere, and is much more reliable in the precision of the relations found.

Genealogical research often involves having to relate, but also record, exchange and merge the data of the results of genetic tests. In order to deepen your analyzes and increase the chances of matches, the laboratories allow you to transfer raw information from one database to another.

In this transfer policy, most laboratories accept that raw data can be downloaded by the person concerned. But not all of them give you the option to add the information from a third party lab.

Today MyHeritage FamilyTreeDNA and laboratories are the most flexible and allow the addition of genetic information from any other competitor laboratory.

classic genealogy
graph lab dna
transfer dna data
 

Classic Genealogy

Which DNA test to choose?

Genetic Genealogy

How to transfer the results?

Test ADN de Généalogie

La généalogie est une pratique qui a pour objet la recherche de la parenté et de la filiation des personnes. La généalogie est donc considérée comme une science de l'histoire qui permet de retracer la mémoire d'une famille en se basant sur des documents, des entretiens oraux ou encore la génétique.

On distingue généralement deux types de généalogie : 

- La Généalogie ascendante  

La généalogie ascendante part d'un individu et vise à rechercher ses ancêtres. C'est cette personne qui sera à la base d'un arbre généalogique et en remontant apparaissent les parents, puis ses grands-parents...

- La Généalogie Descente

La généalogie descendante s'intéresse aux descendants d'une personne ou d'un couple donné et vise à chercher tous les descendants. Cela peut être utilisé pour déterminer des liens de cousinage entre personnes. Mathématiquement plus l'ancêtre est éloigné dans le temps et plus il peut avoir de descendants potentiels.

La généalogie classique se pratique à partir d'archives et de documents permettant la recherche de l'ascendance ou de la descendance d'une personne. Cette recherche permet de mettre en lumière toute déclaration pouvant expliquer et prouver la relation entre des membres d'une famille sur plusieurs générations.

Vous pouvez ainsi utiliser des actes de l'état civil, des archives notariales ou judiciaires, des registres religieux ou tout document officiel ou non écrit ou oral pouvant vous aider dans votre démarche. Par exemple : 

- Acte de naissance

- Livret de famille

Testament

Acte de mariage

- Titre de propriété 

- Certificat et avis de décès

De plus aujourd'hui vous avez plusieurs institutions et entreprises mettant à dispositions des informations et des archives afin de vous orienter dans votre recherche de généalogie. Par exemple, le site Familysearch vous donne accès à des arbres généalogiques d'individus et vous propose d'y connecter le vôtre. Mais aussi Ancestry qui vous aide à créer votre arbre généalogique en conservant vos informations tout au long de votre recherche.

La généalogie génétique est une discipline fondée sur l'étude de l'ADN d'un individu par un laboratoire génétique. Afin de réaliser plusieurs tests en comparaison avec une base de données qui regroupe des informations anthropologiques, mais aussi les empreintes génétiques de l'ensemble des personnes testées.

Cette analyse permet d’aboutir à deux types de résultats :

 

- Une estimation des origines géographiques de l'individu 

 

- Une liste des correspondances génétiques ou « matches » :

Il s’agit de personnes qui ont effectué un test auprès du même laboratoire, qui partagent des marqueurs ADN et donc un lien génétique avec vous. Cette liste est fournie avec une estimation du taux d’ADN partagé, qui permet d’avoir une idée du lien de parenté.

L'intérêt des tests ADN en généalogie : 

Les tests ADN vous donnent la possibilité d'avoir accès à une base de données qui s'enrichit continuellement. Si lors de votre test vous n'avez pas trouvé de connexion fiable à ajouter à votre généalogie, il est possible que dans le futur de nouvelles personnes puissent être testées et vous apportent l'information manquante à vos recherches. 

- Les origines géographiques : 

Connaître le pourcentage d'origine ethnique de votre ADN et sa localisation géographique. Les prédictions d’origines vous permettent d'en savoir plus sur l'origine de vos ancêtres dans l'Histoire. Selon les tests, vous pouvez aussi avoir accès aux données historiques sur les migrations des populations, ce qui peut orienter votre recherche généalogique classique.

- Construire son arbre génétique : 

Les tests ADN vous permettront de vérifier si votre arbre généalogique se confond avec votre arbre génétique. Ainsi vous pouvez mettre en relation les informations concernant votre généalogie classique et les correspondances génétiques que le test ADN peut vous apporter.

Cela peut aussi vous identifier de nouvelles branches génétiques en mettant en relation votre arbre généalogique avec celui d'un cousin au 3e, 4e ou 5e degré selon les résultats.

- Retrouver des parents inconnus :

Dans le cas où votre arbre généalogique comporterait des blancs tels qu'une adoption, ou un enfant de soldat étranger par exemple. La généalogie génétique vous donne une chance de combler ce vide et de retrouver la lignée de vos ancêtres biologiques.

 

Il existe 3 principaux types de test ADN généalogique :

- Le test ADN Autosomal

- Le test de l'ADN Mitochondrial

- Le test de l'ADN du Chromosome Y

Le test de l'ADN autosomal est une analyse de tous les chromosomes non impliqués dans la détermination du sexe d'une personne. Un autosome est donc un chromosome non sexuel qui détient la quasi-majorité de l'information génétique d'une personne.

Cette analyse permet d'identifier les variantes de composition d'un gène (les PSN) afin de les comparer à une base de données composée d'informations concernant tous les types de variantes de l'ADN connu. Afin de créer des correspondances génétiques entre personnes portant les mêmes variantes. 

La correspondance entre individus est généralement définie en centimorgan (cM) qui représente l'unité de mesure d'une liaison génétique. Cela vous permettra de connaître l'estimation de relation que vous pouvez partager avec d'autres personnes déjà testées figurant dans la base de données du laboratoire.

Ainsi, la fiabilité du test de l'ADN autosomal dépend : 

 

- Des informations génétiques détenues par le laboratoire sur les populations comparées

- Du nombre de marqueurs utilisés

- De la valeur des variations génétiques (PSN) testées

- Du degré de mélange chez la personne testée

 

Les estimations antérieures de ce test étaient souvent très imprécises, mais leur exactitude s'est considérablement améliorée avec l'augmentation du nombre de participants et des informations collectées.

La particularité du test de l'ADN autosomal

Cette analyse de l'ADN autosomal permet donc d'identifier les variations de gène (mutation) que vous avez hérité de votre famille de génération en génération. Mais il est tout à fait possible que deux personnes de la même famille (frères et sœurs) ne partagent pas les mêmes résultats.

Le patrimoine génétique de chaque être humain est composé de la moitié du patrimoine génétique de son père et l'autre moitié de celui de sa mère. Mais chaque enfant hérite de façon aléatoire les gènes de ses parents. Ainsi, chacun possède un patrimoine génétique différent et unique.

Dans ces conditions, les infimes mutations génétiques présentes sur nos chromosomes qui servent à établir les résultats du test de l'ADN autosomal ne seront pas forcément les mêmes pour deux enfants d’une même fratrie.

Il est donc conseillé pour améliorer la fiabilité de vos recherches que plusieurs personnes d'une même famille participent à ce test afin de toujours affiner la précision des informations.

Test ADN du Chromosome X

L'analyse du chromosome sexuel X est souvent incluse dans le test de l'ADN autosomal. Toutes les personnes, les hommes comme les femmes reçoivent un chromosome X de leur mère, mais seulement les femmes reçoivent un deuxième chromosome X de leur père.

Suivre la lignée héréditaire du chromosome X est utile pour réduire considérablement les possibilités de relation et améliorer la précision du rapport du test de l'ADN autosomal. Car une correspondance du chromosome X avec un homme ne peut provenir que de son côté maternel. Comme l’ADN autosomique, l’ADN du chromosome X est transmis de manière aléatoire à chaque génération, à l’exception des chromosomes X de père à fille, qui sont transmis sous forme inchangée.

La mitochondrie est une structure autonome présente dans toutes les cellules humaines. Ce composant a la particularité de posséder son propre ADN, et a pour fonction de fournir de l'énergie à la cellule lui permettant de devenir complètement autonome à son tour.

La mitochondrie et donc son ADN mitochondrial sont transmis uniquement par la mère à tous ses enfants. Cette transmission est complètement identique de génération en générationcar les mutations de l'ADN mitochondrial sont extrêmement rares.

Le test de l'ADN mitochondrial consiste à analyser les marqueurs de cet ADN, pour ainsi définir votre lignée maternelle avec une très grande précision. Il peut être réalisé par les hommes et les femmes pour une recherche généalogique comme pour un test de relation. 

Le test ADN de relation

Le test de l'ADN mitochondrial peut aussi être utilisé pour confirmer la relation biologique entre deux personnes, puisque tous les individus d'une même lignée sont supposés avoir une copie identique de cet ADN.

Le test de l'ADN mitochondrial permet avec une grande certitude de confirmer une relation de maternité, de fraternité ou de filiation entre deux ou plusieurs personnes.

Par contre, l'analyse de l'ADN mitochondrial ne peut pas distinguer une relation spécifique entre des femmes appartenant à la même lignée maternelle. 

Les Haplogroupes de l'ADN mitochondrial 

Les haplogroupes sont de grands groupes de populations ayant des caractéristiques communes et correspondent aux grandes vagues de migrations à travers la préhistoire et l’histoire. Le fait d'appartenir à un groupe plutôt qu'un autre permettra de guider vos recherches généalogiques vers les personnes ou les régions du monde qui partagent votre haplogroupe.

L'histoire de l'Ève mitochondriale :  

C'est le nom donné à une femme hypothétique considérée comme la plus récente ancêtre commune par la lignée maternelle de l'humanité. Son existence est attestée par la démonstration qu'il y a une lignée unique de mitochondries dans les cellules de tous les humains. Effectivement, en remontant la chaîne d'évènements d'une lignée maternelle, nous arrivons inéluctablement à une femme qui possède toujours aujourd'hui une lignée exceptionnelle de descendant féminin. Bien que cette personne n'ait pas pu être identifiée de son vivant.

Le chromosome Y est l'un des deux chromosomes sexuels chez les êtres humains. Il fait partie du système XY de détermination sexuelle, que chaque personne possède dans les cellules de son corps.

- Les hommes présentent un chromosome Y et un chromosome X - (XY) -

- Les femmes présentent deux chromosomes X - (XX) -

La particularité du chromosome Y, est que seuls les hommes le possèdent, car il est uniquement transmis du père à son fils lors de la fécondation. De plus, cette transmission est telle que les possibilités de mutation sont rares, ainsi le chromosome Y reste inchangé au cours des générations.

Le test de l'ADN du chromosome Y consiste à analyser les marqueurs de cet ADN, pour ainsi définir votre lignée paternelle avec une très grande précision. Il peut être réalisé par les hommes pour une recherche généalogique comme pour un test de relation. 

Le test ADN de relation

Le test de l'ADN du chromosome Y peut aussi être utilisé pour confirmer la relation biologique entre deux personnes, puisque tous les individus d'une même lignée sont supposés avoir une copie identique de cet ADN.

Le test de l'ADN du chromosome Y permet avec une grande certitude de confirmer une relation de paternité, de fraternité ou de filiation entre deux ou plusieurs personnes.

Par contre, l'analyse de l'ADN du chromosome Y ne peut pas distinguer une relation spécifique entre des hommes appartenant à la même lignée paternelle.

Les Haplogroupes de l'ADN du chromosome Y

Les haplogroupes sont de grands groupes de populations ayant des caractéristiques communes et correspondent aux grandes vagues de migrations à travers la préhistoire et l’histoire. Le fait d'appartenir à un groupe plutôt qu'un autre permettra de guider vos recherches généalogiques vers les personnes ou les régions du monde qui partagent votre haplogroupe.

Le Test de l'ADN Autosomal

Le Test de l'ADN Mitochondrial
Le Test de l'ADN du Chromosome Y
 
 
 

Nous avons sélectionné 4 laboratoires que nous recommandons en raison de la qualité du service et la fiabilité des résultats qu’ils proposent. Mais chaque laboratoire présente ses avantages et ses inconvénients, le choix d'un test va dépendre de votre profil, de votre situation et de vos objectifs.

 

Nous partons du principe que, si vous souhaitez avoir les plus d'informations possibles concernant votre généalogie, il est alors recommandé de faire des tests génétiques sur l'ensemble des bases de données qui existent. Cela vous permettra d'augmenter le taux de relation génétique identifiable afin d'accélérer vos recherches.

Les laboratoires que nous recommandons pour un test de généalogie :  

Vous souhaitez connaître vos origines ethniques et géographiques :

- Nous vous recommandons de commencer par faire un test chez 23andMe qui propose une plus grande précision sur l’estimation des origines géographiques. Les zones géographiques ciblent même vos régions d’origines à l’intérieur d’un pays, avec des résultats assez convaincants.

Vous souhaitez compléter votre arbre généalogique :

- Si vos recherches concernent vos origines à travers le monde et surtout en Amérique, Ancestry est le meilleur choix, car ils possèdent la plus grande base de données. Vous pouvez aussi créer votre arbre généalogique et avoir accès à l'association de correspondance de vos relations.

- Si vos recherches concernent des origines européennes, il est conseillé d'utiliser les bases de données de MyHeritage qui regroupe davantage d'informations sur les origines des pays peuples en Europe. Vous pourrez aussi créer votre arbre généalogique et associer des relations correspondantes (matches).

Vous êtes à la recherche d'un parent inconnu :

- Nous vous recommandons de commencer par faire des tests ADN du chromosome Y ou de l'ADN mitochondrial chez FamilytreeDNA. Ce type de test, qui est proposé nul par ailleurs, est beaucoup plus fiable dans la précision des relations trouvées. 

Les recherches généalogiques amènent souvent à devoir mettre en relation, mais aussi enregistrer, échanger et fusionner les données des résultats des tests génétiques. Afin d'approfondir vos analyses et augmenter les chances de matches, les laboratoires vous permettent de transférer les informations brutes d'une base de données à l'autre.

Dans cette politique de transfert, la plupart des laboratoires acceptent que les informations brutes (raw data) puissent être téléchargées par la personne concernée. Mais tous ne vous donnent pas la possibilité d'ajouter les informations provenant d'un laboratoire tiers.

Aujourd'hui, les laboratoires MyHeritage et FamilytreeDNA sont les plus flexibles et permettent l'ajout d'informations génétiques depuis n'importe quel autre laboratoire concurrent. 

Génalogie-classique-origines-ancestry

Nous proposons ici un guide sur :

recherche de maternité
recherche de paternité
Tableau-Test-ADN-généalogie
transfert-DNA-données-Généalogie
 

La Généalogie Classique

Quel test ADN choisir ?

La Généalogie Génétique

Comment transférer les résultats ?