Genetic Accreditation

The   accreditation is recognition of a service in a given field. It makes it possible to highlight the competence of an organization and reports on a mandatory process within the framework of a regulation. 

Accreditation is based on references and standards defining requirements with regard to the technical competence and implementation of a management system.

The International Organization for Standardization (ISO) is a non-governmental organization which aims to produce international standards in the industrial and commercial fields called ISO standards. 

ISO standards are useful to industrial and economic organisations of all kinds, in both public and private sectors, and ultimately serve the interests of the general public when acting as consumers and users.

The ISO/IEC 17025 standard makes it possible to establish the general requirements concerning the competence of calibration and test laboratories.

It defines a certain number of requirement criteria with regard to the competence of the personnel, the analysis procedure, the maintenance of the equipment, as well as the organization of the general processes used to generate the data .

The use of this standard promotes cooperation between laboratories and other organizations. It facilitates the exchange of information and the sharing of experience, and helps to harmonize procedures.

Laboratories must therefore ensure that their working methods guarantee control of their operations and the reliability of their data. Thus this international reference makes it possible to demonstrate the ability of laboratories to produce reliable results while respecting quality standards widely recognised by different countries around the world. 

Accreditations help laboratories deliver services with confidence and attract new customers. It demonstrates that a laboratory has the necessary skills to manage and carry out the activities defined in its scope of accreditations for a given program. 

The reliability of a DNA test

When you want to do a DNA test, the question of reliability always arises:

How can you be sure that the results provided by the laboratory are reliable?

 

The question is all the more important since this generally has significant consequences in people's lives.  Thus  several factors come into play in the confidence that you can bring to your results. 

But it is always possible to use non-standard samples, which are less reliable, but can provide a solution if saliva sampling is not possible.

ISO-test-dna-accreditation
iso17025-reliability-test-dna

The accreditation of laboratories ensures that the analysis methods meet the standards corresponding to DNA processing and thus promise reliable results. In this sense, the comparison of profiles can only rarely be subject to irregularities since it is checked several times and generally processed by two teams who must note the same result .

Mostly if an error is found, it happens on the use of samples that did not correspond to the client's request, such as an inversion in the declarations of the participants and their samples.  

Therefore, be sure to clearly define your requests during your declaration and organize your samples in order to avoid uncertainties during the analysis .

Laboratory Accreditation

 

It is very important before ordering a test to communicate with your laboratory in order to explain your personal situation. Genetics is a very unique thing that concerns your intimacy and your family  relationships . Therefore, the slightest doubt or assumption can radically change the choice of test and its reliability . It is therefore very important to be aware of the risks and above all to understand what the test can bring you.

For example: 

A search for paternity between a father and a daughter could logically be done using a simple paternity test. But if the doubt of paternity relates to another man of the same family as the father (like a brother) then the two presumed fathers must take part in the test. If one of the two cannot participate then the test cannot be done. If the girl's mother participates in the test, we can do it without the second father, but with reduced reliability.

The effectiveness of a test depends on your statement , without  prior advice you will not be able to ensure the reliability of your results. We offer tools on infotestadn.com that will help you better  understand DNA tests. If you cannot find the information about you, you  can   always contact us on our form .

Contact with the laboratory is also recommended.

The declaration of the participants

Not all DNA tests are equal on the probability ratio they offer and depending on the basic situation several tests are possible and some more reliable than others.

As a general rule, it is always advisable to do DNA testing directly with the person concerned . Consequently, the result will be indubitable and you will have a simple and clear answer to your questions. 

The type of Genetic test

Paternity test :

If the father is available, always try to test with him. The reliability is 100% for a negative result and 99% for a positive result. It will then give you a clear answer on the biological link between the two participants:  Paternity Test.

Maternity test :

If the mother is available, always try to test with her. The reliability is 100% for a negative result and 99% for a positive result. He will then give you a clear answer on the biological link between the two participants:  Maternity test.

 

The Y Chromosome test :

The Y chromosome test allows  with   certainty to define whether two men are of the same paternal line. Since this Y chromosome is exactly the same from father to son, the comparison gives a reliability of 100% for a negative result and 99% for a positive result:  Y chromosome test

The X Chromosome test:

The genetic analysis of Chromosome X gives the possibility of a search for paternity between sisters. The comparison of this chromosome inherited from the father must be identical between biological sisters. Thus the relationship can be precisely determined with a positive or negative answer. In addition, this research can also be applied between the paternal grandmother and her granddaughter: X chromosome test

The mitochondrial DNA test :

The mitochondrial DNA test defines with certainty if two participants are from the same maternal line. Since mitochondrial DNA is transmitted identically from the mother to all her children, it gives a reliability of 100% for a negative result and 99% for a positive result:  mitochondrial DNA.

The prenatal paternity test :

The particularity of this test is that you have no other option than to test the mother and the presumed father to define the biological link with the fetus. But because of this, since the comparison is direct, the reliability remains the same as for the simple paternity test:  Prenatal paternity test.

The tests that we recommend to focus on:

If the situation does not allow you to do a test directly with the person concerned, you still have the possibility of doing indirect DNA tests with members of your family in order to determine a biological relationship.

But please keep in mind that indirect tests are based on probabilities and statistics which greatly reduce reliability in expressing results. It does not mean that the tests can be wrong, it means that according to the  situation it will not be able to determine with  sufficiency the precision a relationship between participants. Which  might ,  in some cases, not answer the relationship question.

In this sense, the reliability of indirect tests will depend on the initial family situation and the number of test participants. Because the more genetic information the laboratory has, the easier it will be to be able to determine a biological relationship between two or more participants. 

The Sibling test :

To increase the reliability of a sibling test, you must already specify the basic statement, according to which you are going to determine a sibling or half-sibling search. In addition, it is always recommended to compare people of opposite sexes . And if possible to always be able to include the mother(s) in the test:  Sibling test

The avuncular test ( Uncle and aunt )  :

To increase the reliability of an avuncular test, you must already be sure of the biological  relationship between the parent you are looking for and his sister or uncle .   And always if possible, include the child's mother in the test:  Avuncular test.

The grandparent parentage test  :

To increase the reliability of a grandparent parentage test, you must already be sure of the biological relationship  between the parent you are looking for and his or her own biological parents . In addition, both grandparents must participate in the test with the child. And always if possible, include the mother of the child in the test: the Grandparents test.

Indirect relationship tests:

The reliability of the results does not depend on the type of sample , but not all samples reliably provide enough genetic information to do a DNA test .

The first difficulty for the laboratory is to extract the DNA present on the sample in order to analyze it. In this, the use of  buccal swabs provides great reliability on DNA extraction if the instructions have been followed correctly. 

The type of DNA sample

How to check the genetic sample?

In the situation where you do not have control over the collection of samples and there is doubt about the follow-up of instructions or intentions by the participants. You have the option of calling on a doctor to vouch for the follow-up of the procedure .

Before placing an order, you can therefore contact a doctor in order to put him in confidence about your approach. The doctor can receive the kit directly from the laboratory and  then   summon the participants to take the samples

In this sense, the doctor takes care of verifying the identity of the participants tested, makes sure to respect the sampling instructions , as well as the documents necessary for the laboratory. In addition, the doctor can pay for the return of the samples with the carrier.

This approach assures you: 

- a rigour in the sampling instructions ,

- a verification of the identity of the participants ,  

- of course reliability in the  results .

Because the doubt of a possibility on the exchange of samples or a dishonest maneuver is dismissed.

This verification can also be very useful when the participants are in different countries.

Call a Doctor for DNA samples

DNA test in Canada

Accréditations & Fiabilité Test ADN

L' Accréditation Génétique

L’accréditation est une reconnaissance d’un service dans un domaine donné. Elle permet de mettre en valeur la compétence d’un organisme et rend compte d’un processus obligatoire dans le cadre d'une réglementation. 

L’accréditation s’appuie sur des références et des normes définissant des exigences en ce qui concerne la compétence technique et de mise en œuvre d'un système de management. 

L’Organisation Internationale de Normalisation (ISO) est une organisation non gouvernementale qui a pour but de produire des normes internationales dans les domaines industriels et commerciaux appelées normes ISO. 

Les normes ISO sont utiles aux organisations industrielles et économiques de tout type, dans les secteurs tant publics que privés et, en fin de compte, elles servent les intérêts du public en général lorsque celui-ci agit en qualité de consommateur et utilisateur

La Norme ISO/IEC 17025 permet d’établir les exigences générales concernant la compétence des laboratoires d'étalonnages et d’essais.

Elle définit un certain nombre de critères d’exigence en ce qui concerne la compétence du personnel, la procédure des analyses, la maintenance des équipements, ainsi que l'organisation des processus généraux servant à générer les données

Le recours à cette norme favorise la coopération entre les laboratoires et les autres organismes. Il facilite l’échange d’informations et le partage d’expérience, et contribue à harmoniser les procédures.

Les laboratoires doivent donc s’assurer que leurs méthodes de travail garantissent la maîtrise de leurs fonctionnements et la fiabilité de leurs données. Ainsi cette référence internationale permet de démontrer la capacité des laboratoires à produire des résultats fiables tout en respectant des normes de qualité accrues largement reconnues par différents pays dans le monde. 

Les accréditations aident les laboratoires à fournir des services avec confiance et à attirer de nouveaux clients. Elle démontre qu’un laboratoire possède les compétences nécessaires pour gérer et mener les activités définies dans sa portée d’accréditations pour un programme donné. 

La fiabilité d'un test ADN

Lorsque l'on souhaite faire un test ADN, la question de la fiabilité se pose toujours :

Comment être sûr que les résultats fournis par le laboratoire sont fiables ?

 

La question est d'autant plus importante puisque cela entraîne généralement des conséquences importantes dans la vie des gens. Ainsi plusieurs facteurs rentrent en compte dans la confiance que vous pouvez apporter à vos résultats. 

Mais il est toujours possible d'utiliser des échantillons non standards, moins fiables, mais qui peuvent apporter une solution si le prélèvement salivaire n'est pas envisageable.

ISO-test-adn-accréditation
iso17025-fiabilité-test-adn

L'accréditation des laboratoires permet d'assurer que les méthodes d'analyses respectent les normes correspondantes aux traitements des ADN et ainsi promettre une fiabilité des résultats. En ce sens, la comparaison des profils ne peut que rarement subir des irrégularités puisque vérifiée plusieurs fois et traitée généralement par deux équipes qui doivent constater un même résultat

En majorité si une erreur est avérée, cela arrive sur l'utilisation des échantillons qui ne correspondait pas à la demande du client, comme une inversion dans les déclarations des participants et leurs échantillons.  

De ce fait, veiller à bien définir vos demandes lors de votre déclaration et organiser vos prélèvements afin d'éviter les incertitudes lors des analyses.

L'accréditation des laboratoires

 

Il est très important avant de commander un test de communiquer avec votre laboratoire afin d'expliquer votre situation personnelle. La génétique est une chose très singulière qui concerne votre intimité et vos rapports familiaux. Dès lors, le moindre doute ou une supposition peut changer de manière radicale le choix du test et sa fiabilité. Il est alors très important d'être conscient des risques et surtout de comprendre ce que le test peut vous apporter.

Par exemple : 

Une recherche de paternité entre un père et une fille pourrait logiquement se faire à l'aide d'un simple test de paternité. Mais si le doute de paternité se porte sur un autre homme de la même famille que le père (comme un frère) alors les deux pères présumés doivent participer au test. Si l'un des deux ne peut pas participer alors, le test ne peut pas se faire. Si la mère de la fille participe au test, nous pouvons le réaliser sans le second père, mais avec une fiabilité réduite. 

L' efficacité d'un test dépend de votre déclaration, sans conseils préalables vous ne pourrez pas vous assurez de la fiabilité de vos résultats. Nous proposons sur infotestadn.com les outils qui vous aideront à mieux appréhender les tests ADN. Si vous ne trouvez pas l'information vous concernant, vous pouvez toujours nous contacter sur notre formulaire.

La prise de contact avec le laboratoire est aussi recommandée.

La déclaration des participants

Tous les tests ADN ne sont pas égaux sur le rapport de probabilité qu'ils proposent, et selon la situation de base plusieurs tests sont possibles et certains plus fiables que d'autres.

En règle générale, il est toujours conseillé de faire des tests ADN directement avec la personne concernée. Par conséquent, le résultat sera sans équivoque et vous aurez une réponse simple et claire à votre questionnement. 

Le type de test Génétique

Le test de Paternité :

Si le père est disponible, essayez toujours de faire le test avec lui. La fiabilité est à 100% pour un résultat négatif et de 99% pour un résultat positif. Il vous donnera alors une réponse claire sur le lien biologique entre les deux participants : Test de Paternité.

Le test de Maternité :

Si la mère est disponible, essayez toujours de faire le test avec elle. La fiabilité est à 100% pour un résultat négatif et de 99% pour un résultat positif. Il vous donnera alors une réponse claire sur le lien biologique entre les deux participants : Test de Maternité.

 

Le test de Chromosome Y :

Le test du chromosome Y permet avec certitude de définir si deux hommes sont de la même lignée paternelle. Puisque ce chromosome Y est exactement le même de père en fils, la comparaison donne une fiabilité de 100% pour un résultat négatif et 99% pour un résultat positif : Test de chromosome Y

Le test de Chromosome X :

L'analyse génétique du Chromosome X donne la possibilité d'une recherche de paternité entre sœurs. La comparaison de ce chromosome hérité du père doit forcément être identique entre sœurs biologiques. Ainsi la relation peut être déterminée de manière précise avec une réponse positive ou négative. De plus, cette recherche peut aussi être appliquée entre la grand-mère paternelle et sa petite-fille : Test de chromosome X

Le test de l'ADN mitochondrial :

Le test de l'ADN mitochondrial permet avec certitude de définir si deux personnes sont issues de la même lignée maternelle. Puisque l'ADN mitochondrial est transmis de manière identique de la mère à tous ses enfants, ce qui donne une fiabilité de 100% pour un résultat négatif et 99% pour un résultat positif : Test de l'ADN mitochondrial.

Le test de Paternité prénatal :

La particularité de ce test est que vous n'avez pas d'autres possibilités que de tester la mère et le père présumé pour définir le lien biologique avec le fœtus. Mais de ce fait, puisque la comparaison est directe la fiabilité reste la même que pour le simple test de paternité : Test de paternité prénatal.

Les tests que nous recommandons de privilégier :

Si la situation ne permet pas de faire un test directement avec la personne concernée, vous avez tout de même la possibilité de faire des tests ADN indirects avec des membres de votre famille afin de déterminer une relation biologique entre vous.

Mais veuillez garder à l'esprit que les tests indirects sont basés sur des probabilités et des statistiques qui réduisent grandement la fiabilité dans l'expression des résultats. Cela ne veut pas dire que les tests peuvent être faux, cela veut dire que selon la situation il ne pourra pas déterminer avec suffisamment de précision une relation entre des participants. Ce qui pourrait dans certains cas ne pas répondre à la question de la relation.

En ce sens, la fiabilité des tests indirects va dépendre de la situation familiale initiale et du nombre de participants au test. Car plus le laboratoire possède d'informations génétiques, plus il lui sera facile de pouvoir déterminer une relation biologique entre deux ou plusieurs participants. 

Le test de fraternité :

Pour augmenter la fiabilité d'un test de fraternité, vous devez déjà bien préciser la déclaration de base, selon laquelle vous allez déterminer une recherche de fraternité ou de demi-fraternité. De plus, il est toujours recommandé de mettre en comparaison des personnes de sexes opposés. Et si possible de toujours pouvoir inclure la ou les mères au test : Test de fraternité

Le test avunculaire ( Oncle et tante ) :

Pour augmenter la fiabilité d'un test avunculaire, vous devez déjà être sûr de la relation biologique entre le parent recherché et sa sœur ou son oncle. Et toujours si possible, inclure la mère de l'enfant au test : Test avunculaire.

Le test de filiation des grands-parents :

Pour augmenter la fiabilité d'un test de filiation des grands-parents, vous devez déjà être sûr de la relation biologique entre le parent recherché et ses propres parents biologiques. De plus, les deux grands-parents doivent participer au test avec l'enfant. Et toujours si possible, inclure la mère de l'enfant au test : Test de filiation des Grands-Parents.

Les tests de relations indirectes :

La fiabilité des résultats ne dépend pas du type d'échantillon, mais tous les échantillons ne fournissent pas de manière fiable assez d'informations génétiques pour faire un test ADN.

La première difficulté pour le laboratoire est d'extraire l'ADN présent sur l'échantillon afin de l'analyser. En cela, l'utilisation d’écouvillons buccaux apporte une grande fiabilité sur l'extraction de l'ADN si les instructions ont été suivies correctement. 

Le type d'échantillon ADN

Comment vérifier le prélèvement génétique ?

Dans la situation où vous n'avez pas le contrôle sur le prélèvement des échantillons et qu'un doute se porte sur le suivi des instructions ou des intentions par les participants. Vous avez la possibilité de faire appel à un médecin afin qu'il se porte garant sur le suivi de la procédure.

Avant de passer commande, vous pouvez donc prendre contact avec un médecin afin de le mettre dans la confidence sur votre démarche. Le médecin peut recevoir le kit directement depuis le laboratoire et ensuite convoquer les participants pour effectuer les prélèvements

En ce sens, le médecin prend en charge de vérifier l'identité des participants testés, s'assure de respecter les instructions de prélèvements, ainsi que des documents nécessaires pour le laboratoire. De plus, le médecin peut prendre en charge le renvoi des échantillons avec le transporteur.

Cette démarche vous assure : 

- une rigueur dans les consignes des prélèvements,

- une vérification de l'identité des participants

- bien entendu une fiabilité dans les résultats.

Car le doute d'une possibilité sur un échange des échantillons ou d'une manœuvre malhonnête est écarté.

Cette vérification peut aussi être très utile lorsque les participants se trouvent dans des pays différents.

Faire appel à un Médecin pour les prélèvements ADN