DNA Genetic Analysis

DNA testing is a genetic analysis technique that makes it possible to identify a person from a small amount of biological samples.  

 

This analysis therefore makes it possible to define a genetic identification fingerprint which is based on the following fact:  

 

- Although humans have a large majority of DNA in common

- Each individual has a unique part in their DNA

 

To understand how the lab sheds light on our genetic profile, you have to start from the ground up and understand what exactly DNA is.

 

DNA is a long molecule of information that is rolled up and condensed into a ball present in our cell nuclei. A person has in each of these cells 46 balls of DNA that we call Chromosome: 23 inherited from our biological mother and 23 from our father.

 

It is important to note that DNA manages almost all of our biological functions ; it is the carrier of our genetic information and also provides manufacturing instructions.

DNA composition

DNA is therefore a molecule which is made up of nucleotides at its base. Not to go into details, nucleotides are organic components made up of chemical elements . In total there are 4 kinds of nucleotides symbolized by the letters A, C, G, and T:  ( Adenine, Cytosine, Guanine and Thymine )

How reliable is a DNA test?

The reliability of the results during a DNA test will depend on several factors:

1. Laboratory accreditation  

Checking the laboratory's accreditation allows you to be sure of the analytical methods that scientists use when looking for a parentage link. An accreditation is an international standard that a laboratory can acquire after verification of the entire process by a  committee  external.

Accreditation gives the laboratory the possibility of genetic analyzes which may be legally legal.

2. The declaration of your situation  

Be sure to communicate well before your order on the family situation, your doubts and the possible relations between the participants. The result of the DNA test will depend on your declaration because it is linked to a deduction of possibilities.

3. The type of test
 

All DNA tests are not equal in terms of the odds ratio they offer, and depending on the basic situation several tests are possible and some more reliable than others.As a general rule, it is always advisable to do DNA testing directly with the affected person.  

4. The type of sample

The reliability of the results does not depend on the type of sample, but not all samples reliably provide enough genetic information to make a DNA test.

In our DNA, nucleotides come together in a more complex structure to form what are called amino acids . In addition, this combination of nucleotides into amino acids regroup together again to ultimately form the proteins in our body .

 

Proteins perform a multitude of functions within the body . They manage all our biological activity through the creation of molecules , the management of vital functions or the transmission of information . Depending on their roles, they can have different names (enzymes, myosin, histones, etc.)

Adenine-nucleotides-test-dna
Thymine-nucleotides-test-dna
Guanine-nucleotides-test-dna
Cytosine-nucleotides-test-dna

A gene is a strand in the DNA molecule . It is a segment of DNA which, depending on its expression, defines the role of its cell. (heart cell, liver cell or brain cell ...)  

 

The role of the gene according to its cell thus determines  existence  of  two main functions on the DNA molecule:

 

- Coding zones, which are used to produce and create new proteins

- The non-coding zones, which rather have a role of protein regulation

 

It is considered that the non-coding areas cover about 98% of our DNA.

 

Still in the same logic, the genes are just as rigorously positioned in a specific way on the DNA. This facilitates the localization of a particular gene because its position remains unchanged in all human beings.

dna-representation-nucleotides

When we locate a specific gene we speak of Locus .

 

- For a coding DNA area , the locus is identified with the name of the protein used.  

- For a non-coding DNA zone , each locus is nomenclatured according to a very precise code:  

 

The D18S52 locus: is located on chromosome 18, it supports a nucleotide sequence that cannot be found elsewhere (S) and it bears the number 52 or D19S52 .

DNA genes

 

DNA is therefore a complex structure that brings together different chemical components in a double helix organization. Two long parallel and complementary strands of nucleotides linked together by molecular bonds.  

 

Know that in DNA all the architecture and the relationship between nucleotides is rigorously hierarchized by chemical elements:

- In front of a G, there is always a C and  vice versa  

- In front of an A, there is always a T and vice versa

This rigorous organization allows the molecule to be duplicated very easily. 

Polymorphisms

Of course, humans are all part of the same species with a very large number of similarities in the structure of nucleotides. However, our extraordinary diversity is rooted in minute variations .  

 

These variations between individuals are called polymorphisms, and analyzing a DNA sample allows us to observe these variations and compare them. Taking two individuals at random, we find about 1 variation every 1200 nucleotides.  

There are two types of variations depending on the coding or non-coding area of DNA.

 

- When the polymorphic variation is in a coding zone, the variation is visible on the protein of the locus (structure of the nucleotides in amino acid and the amino acids in protein)

 

- When the polymorphic variation is in a non-coding zone, the variation is visible by the number of repetitions of the nucleotides. We then speak of length polymorphism.

 

The length polymorphism are repetitive sequences of nucleotides which can be repeated several times in a row such as for example the group: AAGTA which can vary from one person to another and thus be repeated 11 times in one person, 14 times in a second person or 15 times in a third.

 

The term used to refer to the variations between individuals is " Allele ".  

 

During an analysis, an individual will each have two alleles for each genetic trait. One allele representing the variant present on the paternal chromosome and one allele representing  the variant present on the maternal chromosome.

 

A repeating polymorphism sequence consisting of a minimum of 10 nucleotides is commonly referred to as VNTR (Variable Number Tandem Repeats) or minisatellite .  

 

A polymorphism sequence which repeats with a small number of nucleotides, one then speaks of STR (Short Tandem Repeat) or microsatellite .  

 

Short STR-like sequences have come to dominate genetic analysis because of their advantages:  

 

- they are numerous (approximately 50,000 sequences of this type in human DNA)

-they can be analyzed simultaneously (multiplex analysis)

 

On the other hand, they sometimes suffer from a limited polymorphism.

Repetitive Sequences : VNTR and STR

DNA analysis

noyaux-adn-molécule-analyse-génétique
test-dna-extraction-molecule
séquence-adn-découpe-test
séparation-adn-dénaturation
accroche-amorce-hybridation
polymérase-elongation

The first step in a genetic analysis is the extraction and purification of DNA . To do so, it is necessary in a way  remove the DNA molecule from its support and dissolve any substances that could interfere with the progress of the analysis. The scientists then immerse the sample in an aqueous medium which will eliminate all external substances to ultimately only retain the DNA molecule.

Depending on the type of analysis, STR sequences are  carefully chosen and cut with a natural protein: Restriction Enzyme .

Restriction enzymes are special proteins because they come from bacteria and have the ability to cut DNA molecules at the level of specific sequences depending on the enzyme chosen. They are therefore tools widely used in genetic engineering and in biology laboratories.

DNA extraction

The second step is PCR amplification . It is a method allowing from a scarce sample to quickly copy precise sequences of DNA in very many copies . This copying technique, which allows the quantity of DNA to be doubled in a very short time, is possible thanks to the discovery of the enzyme called "  DNA polymerase  (Protein) which allows the perfect reconstruction of a DNA helix previously separated.

PCR amplification is carried out with the mixture of the following active ingredients:  

- DNA sample  : segment previously cut

- Additional nucleotides  

- DNA primers : single strands complementary to the sample to be copied

- DNA polymerase :  enzyme that recognizes primers and assembles nucleotides to copy target DNA

The mixture is subjected to rapid temperature variations in a programmed cycle.

 

Each cycle consists of 3 stages:  

-  90 ° denaturation to separate the DNA helices in 2

-  The ybridation h at 45 ° to fix the primers to the DNA fragments

-  72 ° elongation which allows reconstruction of missing DNA by DNA polymerase enzyme using added primers and nucleotides  

At each cycle, the number of copies is doubled . In 30 or 40 cycles, millions of copies of the target sequence are obtained.

PCR  (polymerase chain reaction)

The third step is the separation of DNA by electrophoresis . This method makes it possible, under the effect of an electric field, to separate proteins from DNA according to their sizes and their molecular weight. The experiment can be done in a tube or in a gel, and allows the observation of the migration of the DNA sequence depending on its composition.

The fragments move according to their size towards the positive pole, because the DNA is negatively charged. The smaller the fragment, the faster (and therefore far) it migrates. All the fragments of the same size form a detectable line and make it possible to characterize their DNA content.

 

Thus, depending on the result of the migration after electrophoresis, the laboratory is able to determine the composition of the fragment: the number of nucleotides and its number of repeats.

Analysis of the fragments obtained by electrophoresis forms the genetic fingerprint of a person which can then be compared to determine a parentage link. Since the length of a particular fragment can vary from one individual to another, with the exception of identical twins, the probability that two people have the same genetic fingerprint is almost zero (1 in 3 billion).

Electrophoresis

electrphorèse-test-adn-lien-filiation
analyse-génétique-adn-laboratoire
extraction-pcr-electrphorèse-analyse-adn

Read the results of a DNA test

The result of a DNA test schematizes genetic analysis, making it possible to identify a person by their genetic fingerprint, or genetic profile. Each laboratory must provide on the result according to the test, the information  identifications which make it possible to establish the link of biological filiation between individuals.

Mitochondrial DNA Analysis

Mitochondrial DNA (mtDNA) testing is a genetic analysis that does not use the genetic information found in our DNA. It is a non-standard test, which is not carried out on the nuclear DNA present in our cells like  previously, but which focuses on the analysis of the DNA of mitochondria.

Mitochondria are ancient bacteria that have gotten inside a cell to form a symbiotic relationship,  several million years ago. This relationship to transform the bacteria into a real organelle for the  cell.

 

The  organelles  are small compartments specialized in certain functions that regulate the life and activity of the cell. The mitochondria today specialize in the production of energy for the cell.

Mitochondrial DNA therefore corresponds to the DNA which is found inside the mitochondria, hence its name, and not to the DNA present in the nucleus of the cell which is the support of the genetic heritage of 'an individual.

Mitochondrial DNA is circular DNA that has several hundred mitochondria per cell and each contains about ten copies of its DNA. Thus it will therefore be present in several thousand copies while nuclear DNA is only present in two copies. For this reason, mitochondrial DNA can be isolated from old samples where very degraded where nuclear DNA is not detected.

Mitochondria

Unlike nuclear DNA, mitochondrial DNA does not contain repetitive sequences and inter-individual variations are sometimes visible on a single nucleotide . The polymorphism of mitochondrial DNA is therefore a structural polymorphism (and not of repetition like that of nuclear DNA).


The analysis is carried out on these polymorphisms present in a non-coding region called the control region.

 

The sequences are amplified by PCR in order to then be detailed, which makes it possible to obtain the complete sequence of nucleotides. : it is the technique of sequencing.

 

This technique is enough  tedious  to be put in place since it is necessary to order the whole area of the DNA to determine a variation which sometimes occurs on a single nucleotide (on average there are approximately 8 nucleotides difference out of the 600 analyzed).

 

The analysis of mitochondrial DNA does not identify 100% an individual, c p ar everal people can have the same mtDNA. But it can become very useful for checking a family link or searching for origins.  

Indeed the particularity of this DNA is that it is transmitted strictly through the maternal route .  Indeed, during fertilization, when the maternal egg and the paternal sperm merge, only the egg has mitochondria and allows transmission.

This means that all the members of a sibling will therefore have the same mitochondrial DNA transmitted by their mother, who herself inherited it from her mother and that  across a person's entire maternal line.

We could then think that all the human species has the same mitochondrial DNA since it is transmitted unchanged to subsequent generations throughout the maternal line. Although at the origin of our species, everyone had,  the same mtDNA sequence, we know that naturally mutations appear from time to time. When this occurs in reproductive cells, the mutation is likely to be passed on to offspring.

It is thanks to mutations that accumulate during the development of the human species in the DNA of the descendants of each family, that strangers (unless you are parents by maternal route), will always have mitochondrial DNA. different.

The Legacy of Mitochondrial DNA

L'Analyse Génétique de l'ADN

Le test ADN est une technique d'analyse génétique rendant possible l'identification d'une personne à partir d'une petite quantité d'échantillons biologiques. 

 

Cette analyse permet de définir donc une empreinte génétique d’identification qui repose sur le fait suivant : 

 

- Bien que les humains aient une large majorité d’ADN en commun

- Chaque individu possède dans son ADN une partie qui est unique

 

Pour comprendre comment le laboratoire met en lumière notre profil génétique, il faut partir de la base et comprendre ce qu’est exactement un ADN.

 

L’ADN est d’une longue molécule d’information qui est roulée et condensée sous forme de pelote présente dans nos noyaux cellulaires. Une personne possède dans chacune de ces cellules 46 pelotes d’ADN que nous appelons chromosome : 23 hérités de notre mère biologique et 23 de notre père.

 

Il est important de noter que l’ADN gère la quasi-totalité de nos fonctions biologiques ; il est le support de nos informations génétiques et fournit aussi les instructions de fabrication. 

Composition de l'ADN

L’ADN est donc une molécule qui est constituée à sa base de nucléotides. Pour ne pas rentrer dans les détails, les nucléotides sont des composants organiques formés d’éléments chimiques. Au total, on dénombre 4 sortes de nucléotides symbolisés par les lettres A, C, G, et T : (Adénine, Cytosine, Guanine et Thymine

Quelle est la fiabilité d'un test ADN ?

La fiabilité des résultats lors d'un test ADN va dépendre de plusieurs facteurs :

1. L'accréditation du laboratoire 

Vérifier l'accréditation du laboratoire vous permet de vous assurer des méthodes d'analyses que les scientifiques utilisent lors de la recherche d'un lien de filiation. Une accréditation est une norme internationale qu'un laboratoire peut acquérir après une vérification de l'ensemble du processus par un comité externe.

Une accréditation donne la possibilité au laboratoire des analyses génétiques qui peuvent être légales juridiquement.

2. La déclaration de votre situation 

Veillez à bien communiquer avant votre commande sur la situation familiale, vos doutes et les possibles relations entre les participants. Le résultat du test ADN va dépendre de votre déclaration, car lié à une déduction de possibilité.

3. Le type de test
 

Tous les tests ADN ne sont pas égaux sur le rapport de probabilité qu'ils proposent, et selon la situation de base plusieurs tests sont possibles et certains plus fiables que d'autres.​ En règle générale, il est toujours conseillé de faire des tests ADN directement avec la personne concernée. 

4. Le type d'échantillon

La fiabilité des résultats ne dépend pas du type d'échantillon, mais tous les échantillons ne fournissent pas de manière fiable assez d'informations génétiques pour faire un test ADN. 

Dans notre ADN, les nucléotides se regroupent en structure plus complexe afin de former ce qu’on appelle les acides aminés. De surcroît, cette combinaison de nucléotides en acides aminés se regroupe à nouveau entre elles pour finalement former les protéines de notre corps.

 

Les protéines assurent une multitude de fonctions au sein de l’organisme. Elles gèrent toute notre activité biologique en passant par la création des molécules, la gestion des fonctions vitales ou la transmission des informations. Selon leurs rôles, elles peuvent avoir différents noms ( enzymes, myosine, histones…) 

Adénine-nucléotides-test-adn
Thymine-nucléotides-test-adn
Guanine-nucléotides-test-adn
Cytosine-nucléotides-test-adn

Un gène est un brin dans la molécule d'ADN. C'est un segment d'ADN qui en fonction de son expression définit le rôle de sa cellule. (cellule cardiaque, cellule du foie ou cellule du cerveau...) 

 

Le rôle du gène en fonction de sa cellule détermine ainsi l'existence de deux grandes fonctions sur la molécule d'ADN :

 

- Les zones codantes, qui sont utilisées pour produire et créer de nouvelles protéines

- Les zones non codantes, qui ont plutôt un rôle de régulation des protéines

 

On considère que les zones non codantes couvrent environ 98% de notre ADN.

 

Toujours dans la même logique, les gènes sont tout aussi rigoureusement positionnés de manière spécifique sur l’ADN. Ce qui facilite la localisation d’un gène en particulier, car sa position reste inchangée chez tous les êtres humains. 

représentation-adn-double-helice

Lorsqu’on localise un gène précis, on parle alors de locus.

 

- Pour une zone d’ADN codante, le locus est identifié avec le nom de la protéine utilisée. 

- Pour une zone d’ADN non codante, chaque locus est nomenclaturé selon un code bien précis : 

 

Le locus D18S52 : est situé sur le chromosome 18, il supporte une séquence de nucléotides que l’on ne retrouve pas ailleurs (S) et il porte le numéro 52 soit D18S52

Les gènes de l'ADN

L’ADN est donc une structure complexe qui regroupe différents composants chimiques dans une organisation en double hélice. Deux longs brins parallèles et complémentaires de nucléotides reliés entre eux par des liaisons moléculaires.  

 

Sachez que dans l’ADN, toute son architecture et la relation entre les nucléotides sont rigoureusement hiérarchisées par des éléments chimiques :

- En face d'un G, il y a toujours un C et vice-versa 

- En face d'un A, il y a toujours un T et vice-versa

Cette rigoureuse organisation permet à la molécule d'être dupliquée très facilement.  

Polymorphismes

Bien entendu, les êtres humains font tous partie de la même espèce avec un très grand nombre de similitudes dans la structure des nucléotides. Toutefois, notre extraordinaire diversité prend sa source dans des variations infimes

 

Ces variations entre les individus sont appelées des polymorphismes et l’analyse d’un échantillon d’ADN nous permet d’observer ces variations et de les comparer. En prenant deux individus au hasard, on trouve environ 1 variation tous les 1200 nucléotides. 

Il existe deux types de variations en fonction de la zone codante ou non codante de l’ADN.

 

- Lorsque la variation polymorphe se trouve dans une zone codante, la variation est visible sur la protéine du locus (structure du nucléotide en acide aminé, et les acides aminés en protéine)

 

- Lorsque la variation polymorphe se trouve dans une zone non codante, la variation est visible par le nombre de répétitions des nucléotides. On parle alors de polymorphisme de longueur.

 

Les polymorphismes de longueur sont des séquences répétitives de nucléotides qui peuvent se répéter plusieurs fois d’affiler comme le groupe : AAGTA qui peut varier d’une personne à l’autre et ainsi se répéter 11 fois chez une personne, 14 fois chez une deuxième personne ou 15 fois chez une troisième.

 

Le terme employé pour évoquer les variantes entre individus est « Allèle ».  

 

Lors d’une analyse, un individu va posséder à chaque fois deux allèles pour chaque caractère génétique. Un allèle représentant la variante présente sur le chromosome paternel et un allèle représentant  la variante présente sur le chromosome maternel. 

Une séquence de polymorphisme qui se répète est composée d’un minimum de 10 nucléotides. Pour cela, elle est communément appelée VNTR (Variable Number Tandem Repeats) ou minisatellite

 

Une séquence de polymorphisme qui se répète avec un petit nombre de nucléotides (moins de 10), on parle alors de STR (Short Tandem Repeat) ou microsatellite

 

Les séquences courtes de type STR ont fini par s’imposer dans l’analyse génétique du fait de leurs avantages : 

 

- elles sont nombreuses (environ 50 000 séquences de ce type dans l’ADN humain)

- elles peuvent être analysées de manière simultanée (analyse en multiplex)

 

En revanche, elles souffrent parfois d’un polymorphisme limité.  

Les Séquences répétitives : VNTR et STR

Analyse de l’ADN

noyaux-adn-molécule-analyse-génétique
test-adn-extraire-molécule
séquence-adn-découpe-test
séparation-adn-dénaturation
accroche-amorce-hybridation
polymérase-elongation

La première étape lors d’une analyse génétique est l’extraction et la purification de l’ADN. Pour se faire, il faut en quelque sorte décrocher la molécule d’ADN de son support et dissoudre les substances qui pourraient interférer avec le déroulement de l’analyse. Les scientifiques plongent alors l’échantillon dans un milieu aqueux qui va éliminer toutes les substances externes pour ne conserver finalement que la molécule d’ADN.

En fonction du type de l'analyse, les séquences STR sont choisies et découpées soigneusement avec une protéine naturelle : l'enzyme de restriction.

Les enzymes de restrictions sont des protéines particulières, car issues de bactéries, elles ont la capacité de couper les molécules d’ADN au niveau de séquences spécifiques en fonction de l'enzyme choisie. Elles sont donc des outils très utilisés en génie génétique et dans les laboratoires de biologie. 

Extraction de l'ADN

La seconde étape est l’amplification par PCR. C’est une méthode permettant à partir d’un échantillon peu abondant de copier rapidement des séquences précises d’ADN en de très nombreux exemplaires. Cette technique de copiage qui permet de doubler la quantité d’ADN en très peu de temps est possible grâce à la découverte de l’enzyme nommé « ADN de polymérase » (protéine) qui permet la reconstruction parfaite d’une hélice d’ADN préalablement séparée.

L'amplification par PCR se fait avec le mélange des actifs suivants : 

- Échantillon d'ADN  : segment préalablement découpé

- Des nucléotides supplémentaires 

- Des amorces d'ADN : simples brins complémentaires de l'échantillon à copier

- L'ADN polyméraseenzyme qui reconnaît les amorces et assemble les nucléotides pour recopier l’ADN cible

Le mélange est soumis à des variations de température rapides en cycle programmé.

 

Chaque cycle se compose de 3 étapes : 

La dénaturation à 90° pour séparer les hélices de l'ADN en 2

L'hybridation à 45° pour fixer les amorces aux fragments d'ADN

L'élongation à 72° qui permet la reconstruction de l'ADN manquant par l'enzyme de l'ADN polymérase en utilisant les amorces et les nucléotides ajoutés  

À chaque cycle, le nombre de copies est doublé. En 30 ou 40 cycles, on obtient des millions de copies de la séquence cible.

La PCR (polymerase chain reaction ou réaction de polymérisation en chaîne)

La troisième étape est la séparation de l’ADN par l’électrophorèse. Cette méthode permet sous l’effet d’un champ électrique de séparer les protéines de l’ADN en fonction de leurs tailles et de leur poids moléculaire. L’expérience peut se faire dans un tube ou dans un gel, et permet l’observation de la migration de la séquence d’ADN en fonction de sa composition.

Les fragments se déplacent en fonction de leur taille vers le pôle positif, car l’ADN est chargé négativement. Plus le fragment est petit, plus il migre vite (et donc loin). Tous les fragments d’une même taille forment une ligne repérable et permettent de caractériser leur contenu en ADN.

 

Ainsi en fonction du résultat de la migration après l’électrophorèse, le laboratoire est en mesure de déterminer la composition du fragment : le nombre de nucléotides et son nombre de répétitions

L'analyse des fragments obtenus par électrophorèse forme l'empreinte génétique d'une personne qui peut être ensuite comparée pour déterminer un lien de filiation. Puisque la longueur d’un fragment particulier peut varier d’un individu à l’autre, à l’exception des vrais jumeaux, la probabilité pour que deux personnes aient la même empreinte génétique est quasiment nulle (1 sur 3 milliards). 

L’électrophorèse

electrphorèse-test-adn-lien-filiation
analyse-génétique-adn-laboratoire
extraction-pcr-electrphorèse-analyse-adn

Lire les résultats d'un test ADN

Le résultat d'un test ADN schématise l'analyse génétique, rendant possible l'identification d'une personne par son empreinte génétique, ou profil génétique. Chaque laboratoire doit fournir sur le résultat en fonction du test : les informations d'identifications qui permettent d'établir le lien de filiation biologique entre des individus. 

Analyse de l’ADN Mitochondrial

Le test de l'ADN mitochondrial (ADNmt) est une analyse génétique qui n'utilise pas les informations génétiques qui se trouvent dans notre ADN. C'est un test non standard, qui n’est pas orienté sur l'ADN nucléaire présent dans nos cellules comme précédemment, mais qui plutôt sur l'analyse de l'ADN des mitochondries. 

Les mitochondries sont d’anciennes bactéries qui se sont introduites à l’intérieur d’une cellule pour former une relation symbiotique, il y a de cela plusieurs millions d’années. Cette relation a transformé la bactérie en un véritable organite pour la cellule.

 

Les organites sont de petits compartiments spécialisés dans certaines fonctions qui régulent la vie et l’activité de la cellule. La mitochondrie est spécialisée aujourd'hui dans la production d’énergie pour la cellule.

L’ADN mitochondrial correspond donc à l'ADN qui se trouve à l’intérieur de la mitochondrie, d’où son nom, et non pas à l’ADN présent dans le noyau de la cellule qui est le support du patrimoine génétique d’un individu.

L’ADN mitochondrial est un ADN circulaire qui compte plusieurs centaines de mitochondries par cellule et chacun contient une dizaine de copies de son ADN. Ainsi il sera donc présent en plusieurs milliers de copies alors que l’ADN nucléaire n’est présent qu’en deux copies. Pour cette raison, l’ADN mitochondrial peut être isolé sur des prélèvements anciens ou très dégradés là ou l’ADN nucléaire n’est pas détecté. 

Les Mitochondries

Contrairement à l’ADN nucléaire, l’ADN mitochondrial ne contient pas de séquence répétitive et les variations interindividus sont parfois visibles sur un seul nucléotide. Le polymorphisme de l’ADN mitochondrial est donc un polymorphisme de structure (et non de répétition comme celui de l’ADN nucléaire).


L’analyse s’effectue sur ces polymorphismes présents dans une région non codante appelée région de contrôle.

 

Les séquences sont amplifiées par PCR pour être ensuite détaillées. Ce qui permet d’obtenir l'enchaînement complet des nucléotides. : c’est la technique du séquençage. 

 

Cette technique est assez fastidieuse à mettre en place puisqu’il faut ordonner toute la zone de l’ADN pour déterminer une variation qui se présente parfois sur un seul nucléotide (en moyenne, on trouve environ 8 nucléotides de différence sur les 600 analysés). 

L'analyse de l'ADN mitochondrial ne permet pas d'identifier à 100 % un individu, car plusieurs personnes peuvent avoir le même ADNmt. Mais il peut devenir très utile pour vérifier un lien de parenté ou une recherche des origines. 

En effet, la particularité de cet ADN est qu’il se transmet strictement par la voie maternelle. En effet, lors de la fécondation, lorsque l’ovule maternel et le sperme paternel se fusionnent, seul l’ovule possède des mitochondries et permet la transmission.

Cela signifie que tous les membres d’une fratrie vont donc posséder le même ADN mitochondrial transmis par leur mère, qui l’a elle-même hérité de sa mère et cela sur toute la lignée maternelle d'une personne.

On pourrait penser alors que toute l'espèce humaine possède le même ADN mitochondrial puisque transmis inchangé aux générations suivantes sur toute la lignée maternelle. Bien qu’il soit possible que notre espèce eût la même séquence d’ADNmt, on sait que naturellement des mutations apparaissent de temps en temps. Lorsque ça se produit dans les cellules reproductrices, la mutation est susceptible d’être transmise aux descendants.

C’est grâce à des mutations qui s’accumulent au fil de l’évolution de l'espèce humaine que l’ADN des descendants de chaque famille étrangère (à moins que vous soyez parents par voie maternelle) aura toujours un ADN mitochondrial différent. 

L'héritage de l'ADN Mitochondrial