Maternity DNA search

I am looking for a biological mother and I am:

Maternity Search is a guide we offer so that you can find the most suitable DNA test for your situation.

Anonymous , free and easy to use, you must answer a set of questions by placing yourself in the position of a person looking for the biological mother.

 

Answers are not recorded and the results of this guide will offer you, depending on the situation, the information on the DNA test you need.

Do not hesitate to contact us, or to contact a laboratory if you have additional questions on theinformation that the guide provides you.  

How to search for Maternity?

Genetic research is a powerful and useful tool when you are in doubt about a parentage link between two people. This gives you the opportunity to use your DNA to prove a biological relationship and thus remove doubt about a family member, confirm your membership from a legal point of view or find unknown relatives.

Unfortunately when you want to do this type of genetic analysis, unlike a genealogy test which will only allow you to have relationship matches by percentage, you must necessarily compare the DNA of two or more individuals. to have a reliable result on your parentage.

So the first thing to do in this situation is to know:

 

Who is available for DNA testing?

What is the family situation with this person?

Which DNA test to choose?

The search for a maternal filiation link can then be done with close members of the presumed mother's family and depending on the participant  available a choice of DNA test will be offered.

Who can participate in a Maternity search?

As indicated  previously  to do a relationship DNA test, you need to compare the DNA of several people to  define a link of maternal filiation. For this we propose in this guide to put you in the position of:  

- A man

- A woman

Depending on your basic profile, you will be able to do genetic analyzes with:  

- The alleged mother 

- Your Brothers and Sisters

- Your grandparents

- Your Aunt or Uncle

- First cousins

Be careful, however, there are conditions for each of the participants and it is often recommended to include your biological father to improve the results of DNA tests, if possible.

What are the conditions for each participant?

The participation of brothers and sisters: 

The genetic analysis can be done between brothers and sisters or with only brothers and conversely only between sisters. In addition, it is not mandatory  than  siblings share the same biological father for a DNA test for maternity.  

Grand parents : 

Doing a DNA test between a grandson or granddaughter and his grandparents is possible provided that both grandparents participate in the test. Genetic labs may offer to do genetic testing with only one grandparent, but we do not recommend this.  choice. Because the lack of genetic information will not bring you a reliable and precise DNA result.

In addition, it is normal to specify that the two grandparents must be the biological parents of the mother sought.  

Take a test with the aunt OR with the uncle:

You must choose the participant between your aunt and your uncle. Using DNA from both is not necessary for good genetic results and the lab may charge you twice for the test. On the other hand, it is very important that the participant chooses, either the brother or the sister  complete from the alleged mother. (They must share the same biological parents)  

The cousins : 

It is possible to do a genetic test with a first cousin. The DNA comparison will be done by the  through mitochondrial DNA which is passed only from the mother to all of her children. The condition is that the cousin must be a descendant of your grandmother's female line. (The son or daughter of your aunt or any other female descendant exclusively)

What DNA tests are available?

Depending on your family situation and the participants, several DNA tests can be used to answer your doubt of motherhood.

The Maternity test : 

To perform a maternity DNA test you must compare your genes to the one  from a mother  presumed. This genetic analysis is the most reliable and the most direct to confirm the parentage link between the children, boys or girls, and the tested mother. The biological father is not obligatory but can also participate in the test.

The Sibling test : 

In order to verify a common maternity between brothers and sisters you can choose the fraternity DNA test. The genetic analyzes will offer you a percentage of relation which can vary according to your genes, it is then more interesting to do this test with several participants (more than two) to improve the accuracy of the results. As well as for this test the addition of your biological father is essential but not obligatory.

The grandparent parentage test :

Gene analysis between grandchildren and grandparents can be done with this DNA test. Since the laboratory does not have the genetic profile of the presumed mother, it is important to be able, if possible  add  your biological father's genetic profile. The test cannot be considered reliable  only with the participation of the two grandparents.

The avuncular filiation test (Aunt & Uncle) :

The genetic test of relationship between a  nephew  and / or a niece can be either with the aunt or with the uncle. We recommend crossing the genera to have more distant genes and therefore a more reliable result: 

-Niece with uncle

- Nephew with aunt

The analysis is always in percentage relation, so it is always recommended to include the genetic profile of your biological father if possible.

The mitochondrial DNA test  : 

The mitochondria test is as reliable as the maternity test in the results. He will give you either a positive or a negative answer depending on the family situation. Please note that this test can only be done with male individuals in order to determine whether they belong to the same maternal line. Participants can be:  

- Presumed mother

- Aunt

- Grandmother

- Brothers and sisters

- Cousins siblings (  feminine masculine )

Accreditation & reliability of DNA tests

The reliability of a test depends primarily on the accreditation of your laboratory. It is very important that the analysis methods comply with international standards in order to ensure a credible result. But you also have other factors to take into account to improve this reliability: the type of sample, the choice of the test and your declaration are elements that can have an impact on your test.

Which sample can I use?

Choosing the sample is an important step in doing a DNA test . In general, laboratories recommend the use of oral swabs. But depending on the situation it can be difficult and the choice of another type of sample should be considered. But be careful, there are conditions to be respected so that the sample provides enough genetic information for your DNA test .

Recherche de Maternité

Je recherche un mère biologique et je suis :

La Recherche de Maternité est un guide que nous vous proposons afin que vous puissiez trouver le test ADN le plus adapté à votre situation.

Anonyme, gratuit, simple d'utilisation, vous devez répondre à un ensemble de questions en vous plaçant dans la position d'une personne qui recherche sa mère biologique.

Les réponses ne sont pas enregistrées et les résultats de ce guide vous proposeront selon la situation des informations sur le test ADN qu'il vous faut. 

N'hésitez pas à nous contacter, ou à contacter un laboratoire si vous avez des questions supplémentaires aux renseignements que le guide peut vous fournir.  

Comment faire un recherche de Maternité ?

La recherche génétique est un outil puissant et utile lorsque vous avez un doute sur un lien de filiation entre deux personnes. Cela vous donne la possibilité d'utiliser votre ADN afin de prouver une relation biologique et ainsi lever un doute sur un membre de la famille, confirmer votre appartenance d'un point de vue juridique ou retrouver des parents inconnus. 

Malheureusement lorsque l'on souhaite faire ce type d'analyse génétique, à l'inverse d'un test de généalogie qui vous permettra uniquement d'avoir des matches de relations par pourcentage, vous devez obligatoirement confronter l'ADN de deux individus ou plus pour avoir un résultat fiable sur votre filiation.

Ainsi la première chose à faire dans cette situation est de savoir :

 

Qui est disponible pour le test ADN ?

Quelle est la situation familiale avec cette personne ?

Quel test ADN choisir ?

La recherche d'un lien de filiation maternelle peut alors se faire avec des membres proches de la famille de la mère présumée et selon le participant disponible un choix du test ADN vous sera proposé.

Qui peut participer à un recherche de Maternité ?

Comme indiqué précédemment pour faire un test ADN de relation, vous devez confronter l'ADN de plusieurs personnes pour définir un lien de filiation maternelle. Pour cela, nous proposons dans ce guide de vous mettre dans la position de :  

- Un homme

- Une femme

Selon votre profil, vous aurez la possibilité de faire des analyses génétiques avec : 

- La mère présumée 

- Vos Frères et sœurs

- Vos Grands-parents

- Votre Tante ou votre Oncle

- Des Cousins germains

Il existe cependant des conditions pour chacun des participants et il est souvent recommandé d'inclure votre père biologique pour améliorer les résultats des tests ADN, si possible.

Quelles sont les conditions pour chaque participant ?

La participation des frères et sœurs : 

L'analyse génétique peut se faire entre frères et sœurs ou alors avec uniquement des frères et à l'inverse uniquement entre sœurs. De plus, il n'est pas obligatoire que les frères et sœurs partagent le même père biologique pour une recherche de maternité avec un test ADN. 

Les grands-parents : 

Faire un test ADN entre un petit-fils ou une petite-fille et ses grands-parents est possible à condition que les deux grands-parents participent au test. Il est possible que des laboratoires génétiques proposent de faire le test génétique avec uniquement un grand-parent, mais nous ne recommandons pas ce choix. Car le manque d'informations génétiques ne permettra pas de vous apporter un résultat d'ADN fiable et précis.

De plus, il est normal de préciser que les deux grands-parents doivent être les parents biologiques de la mère recherchée. 

Faire un test avec la tante OU avec l'oncle :

Vous devez faire le choix du participant entre votre tante et votre oncle. Utiliser l'ADN des deux n'est pas nécessaire pour avoir des résultats génétiques de qualités et le laboratoire risque de vous faire payer le test en double. Par contre, il est très important que le participant choisisse, soit le frère ou la sœur complets de la mère présumée. ( Ils doivent partager les mêmes parents biologiques) 

Les cousins : 

Faire un test génétique avec un cousin germain est possible. La comparaison d'ADN va se faire par le biais de l'ADN mitochondrial qui est transmis uniquement par la mère à tous ses enfants. La condition est que le cousin doit être un descendant de la lignée féminine de votre grand-mère. (Le fils ou la fille de votre tante ou tout autre descendant féminin exclusivement)

Quel sont les tests ADN disponibles ?

En fonction de votre situation familiale et des participants, plusieurs tests ADN peuvent être utilisés pour répondre à votre doute de maternité.

Le test de Maternité

Pour réaliser un test ADN de maternité, vous devez comparer vos gènes à celui d'une mère présumée. Cette analyse génétique est la plus fiable et la plus directe pour confirmer le lien de filiation entre les enfants, garçons ou filles et la mère testée. Le père biologique n'est pas nécessaire, mais peut participer aussi au test.

Le test de Fraternité

Afin de vérifier une maternité commune entre frères et sœurs, vous pouvez choisir le test ADN de fraternité. Les analyses génétiques vous présenteront un pourcentage de relation qui peut varier selon vos gènes, il est alors plus intéressant de faire ce test avec plusieurs participants (plus que deux) pour améliorer la précision des résultats. Aussi l'ajout de votre père biologique est fortement recommandé, mais pas obligatoire.

Le test de filiation grands-parents

L'analyse des gènes entre des petits-enfants et les grands-parents peut se faire avec ce test ADN. Puisque le laboratoire ne possède pas le profil génétique de la mère présumée, il est important de pouvoir si possible ajouter le profil génétique de votre père biologique. Le test ne peut être considéré comme fiable qu'avec la participation des deux grands-parents.

Le test de filiation avunculaire ( Tante & Oncle) :

Le test génétique de relation entre un neveu et une nièce peut se faire soit avec la tante soit avec l'oncle. Nous recommandons de croiser les genres pour avoir des gènes plus éloignés et donc un résultat plus fiable : 

-Nièce avec l'oncle

-Neveu avec la tante

L'analyse est toujours en pourcentage de relation, ainsi il est toujours recommandé d'inclure le profil génétique de votre père biologique si possible.

Le test de l'ADN mitochondrial : 

Le test de mitochondrie est aussi fiable que le test de maternité dans les résultats. Il vous donnera une réponse soit positive soit négative en fonction de la situation familiale. Ce test peut être fait qu'avec des individus de sexe masculin et féminin afin de déterminer s'ils appartiennent à la même lignée maternelle. Les participants peuvent être : 

- Mère présumée

- Tante

- Grand-mère

- Frères et soeurs

- Cousins germains ( féminin / masculin )

Accréditation & Fiabilité des tests ADN

La fiabilité d'un test dépend en premier point de l'accréditation de votre laboratoire. Il est très important que les méthodes d'analyses respectent les normes internationales afin de vous assurer un résultat crédible. Mais vous avez aussi d'autres facteurs à prendre en compte pour améliorer cette fiabilité : le type d'échantillon, le choix du test et votre déclaration sont des éléments qui peuvent avoir un impact sur votre test.

Quel échantillon puis-je utiliser ?

Le choix de l'échantillon est une étape importante pour faire un test ADN. En général, les laboratoires recommandent l'utilisation des écouvillons buccaux. Mais selon la situation, il peut être difficile et le choix d'un autre type d'échantillon doit être alors envisagé. Vous devez aussi respecter des conditions afin que l'échantillon fournisse assez d'information génétique à votre test ADN