Paternity search

I am looking for a biological father and I am:

Paternity Search is a guide we offer so that you can find the most suitable DNA test for your situation.

 

Anonymous , free and easy to use, you must answer a set of questions by placing yourself in the position of a person looking for the biological father.

 

Answers are not recorded and the results of this guide will offer you, depending on the situation, the information on the DNA test you need.

Do not hesitate to contact us, or to contact a laboratory if you have additional questions on theinformation that the guide provides you.  

How to do a paternity search?

Genetic research is a powerful and useful tool when you are in doubt about a parentage link between two people. This gives you the opportunity to use your DNA to prove a biological relationship and thus remove doubt about a family member, confirm your membership from a legal point of view or find unknown relatives.

Unfortunately when you want to do this type of genetic analysis, unlike a genealogy test which will only allow you to have relationship matches by percentage, you must necessarily compare the DNA of two or more individuals. to have a reliable result on your parentage.

So the first thing to do in this situation is to know:

 

Who is available for DNA testing?

What is the family situation with this person?

Which DNA test to choose?

The search for a paternal filiation link can then be done with close members of the family of the presumed father and depending on the participant  available a choice of DNA test will be offered.

Who can participate in a paternity search?

As indicated  previously  to do a relationship DNA test, you need to compare the DNA of several people to  define a link of paternal filiation. For this we propose in this guide to put you in the position of:  

- A man

- A woman

- A pregnant woman

Depending on your basic profile, you will be able to do genetic analyzes with:  

- The presumed father 

- Your Brothers and Sisters

- Your grandparents

- Your Aunt or Uncle

- A first cousin

Be careful, however, there are conditions for each of the participants and it is often recommended to include your biological mother to improve the results of DNA tests.

What are the conditions for each participant?

The participation of brothers and sisters: 

The genetic analysis can be done between brothers and sisters or with only brothers and conversely only between sisters. In addition, it is not mandatory  than  siblings share the same biological mother for DNA paternity testing.  

Grand parents : 

To do a DNA test between a grandson or a granddaughter and his grandparents is possible provided that both grandparents participate in the test. Genetic labs may offer to do genetic testing with only one grandparent, but we do not recommend this.  choice. Because the lack of genetic information will not bring you a reliable and precise DNA result.

In addition, it is normal to specify that the two grandparents must be the biological parents of the wanted father.  

Take a test with the aunt OR with the uncle:

You must choose the participant between your aunt and your uncle. Using DNA from both is not necessary for good genetic results and the lab may charge you twice for the test. On the other hand, it is very important that the participant chooses, either the brother or the sister  full suit of the alleged father. (They must share the same biological parents)  

The cousin : 

Genetic testing with a first cousin can only be done between males. The DNA comparison will be done by the  bias  of the male sex chromosome which is transmitted only from father to son throughout the paternal line. The condition is that the cousin must be a descendant of your grandfather's male line. (The son of your uncle or any other male descendant exclusively)

What DNA tests are available?

Depending on your family situation and the participants, several DNA tests can be used to answer your doubt of paternity.

The Paternity test : 

To perform a DNA paternity test you must compare your genes to that of a suspected father. This genetic analysis is the most reliable and the most direct to confirm the parentage link between children, boys or girls and the tested father. The biological mother is not obligatory but can also participate in the test.

The Brotherhood test : 

In order to verify a common paternity between brothers and sisters you can choose the fraternity DNA test. The genetic analyzes will offer you a percentage of relation which can vary according to your genes, it is then more interesting to do this test with several participants (more than two) to improve the accuracy of the results. As well as for this test the addition of your biological mother is essential but not obligatory.

The grandparent parentage test :

Gene analysis between grandchildren and grandparents can be done with this DNA test. Since the laboratory does not have the genetic profile of the alleged father, it is important to be able, if possible  add  your biological mother's genetic profile. The test cannot be considered reliable  only with the participation of the two grandparents.

The avuncular filiation test (Aunt & Uncle) :

The genetic test of relationship between a  nephew  and / or a niece can be either with the aunt or with the uncle. We recommend crossing the genera to have more distant genes and therefore a more reliable result: 

- Niece with uncle

- Nephew with aunt

The analysis is always in percentage relation, so it is always recommended to include the genetic profile of your birth mother if possible.

The Y chromosome DNA test : 

The Y chromosome test is as reliable as the paternity test in the results. He will give you either a positive or a negative answer depending on the family situation. Please note that this test can only be done with male individuals to determine if they belong to the same paternal line. Participants can be: 

- Presumed father

- Uncles

- Grandfather

- Brothers

- Cousin

The X chromosome DNA test :

The X chromosome test is a test with very high precision just like the paternity test or the Y chromosome test, it will give you either a positive or a negative answer depending on the family situation and especially depending on the participants. This test can only be done between sisters or with the paternal grandmother and her granddaughter. Depending on the context, it is also important to include the birth mother in order to have results.

The prenatal paternity test : 

For this genetic analysis which is done during pregnancy when the mother is still pregnant, you must imperatively make the genetic comparison with the presumed father. No other member of the family can take the place of the presumed father before the birth of the baby. The mother should provide a blood sample and the father a saliva sample for testing.

Accreditation & reliability of DNA tests

The reliability of a test depends primarily on the accreditation of your laboratory. It is very important that the analysis methods comply with international standards in order to ensure a credible result. But you also have other factors to take into account to improve this reliability: the type of sample, the choice of the test and your declaration are elements that can have an impact on your test.

Which sample can I use?

Choosing the sample is an important step in doing a DNA test . In general, laboratories recommend the use of oral swabs. But depending on the situation it can be difficult and the choice of another type of sample should be considered. But be careful, there are conditions to be respected so that the sample provides enough genetic information for your DNA test .

Recherche de Paternité

Je recherche un père biologique et je suis :

La Recherche de Paternité est un guide que nous vous proposons afin que vous puissiez trouver le test ADN le plus adapté à votre situation.

Anonyme, gratuit et simple d'utilisation, vous devez répondre à un ensemble de questions en vous plaçant dans la position d'une personne qui recherche son père biologique.

Les réponses ne sont pas enregistrées et les résultats de ce guide vous proposeront selon la situation des informations sur le test ADN qu'il vous faut. 

N'hésitez pas à nous contacter, ou à contacter un laboratoire si vous avez des questions supplémentaires aux renseignements que le guide peut vous fournir.  

Comment faire un recherche de Paternité ?

La recherche génétique est un outil puissant et utile lorsque vous avez un doute sur un lien de filiation entre deux personnes. Cela vous donne la possibilité d'utiliser votre ADN afin de prouver une relation biologique et ainsi lever un doute sur un membre de la famille, confirmer votre appartenance d'un point de vue juridique ou retrouver des parents inconnus.

Malheureusement lorsque l'on souhaite faire ce type d'analyse génétique, à l'inverse d'un test de généalogie qui vous permettra uniquement d'avoir des matches de relations par pourcentage, vous devez obligatoirement confronter l'ADN de deux individus ou plus pour avoir un résultat fiable sur votre filiation.

Ainsi la première chose à faire dans cette situation est de savoir :

 

Qui est disponible pour le test ADN ?

Quelle est la situation familiale avec cette personne ?

Quel test ADN choisir ?

La recherche d'un lien de filiation paternelle peut alors se faire avec des membres proches de la famille du père présumé et selon le participant disponible un choix du test ADN vous sera proposé.

Qui peut participer à un recherche de paternité ?

Comme indiqué précédemment pour faire un test ADN de relation, vous devez confronter l'ADN de plusieurs personnes pour définir un lien de filiation paternelle. Pour cela, nous proposons dans ce guide de vous mettre dans la position de : 

- Un homme

- Une femme

- Une femme enceinte 

Selon votre profil de base, vous aurez la possibilité de faire des analyses génétiques avec : 

- Le Père présumé 

- Vos Frères et sœurs

- Vos Grands-parents

- Votre Tante ou votre Oncle

- Un Cousin germain

Il existe cependant des conditions pour chacun des participants et il est souvent recommandé d'inclure votre mère biologique pour améliorer les résultats des tests ADN.

Quelles sont les conditions pour chaque participant ?

La participation des frères et sœurs : 

L'analyse génétique peut se faire entre frères et sœurs ou alors avec uniquement des frères et à l'inverse uniquement entre sœurs. De plus, il n'est pas obligatoire que les frères et sœurs partagent la même mère biologique pour une recherche de paternité avec un test ADN. 

Les grands-parents : 

Pour faire un test ADN entre un petit-fils ou une petite-fille et ses grands-parents, il est important de respecter la condition suivante : les deux grands-parents doivent participer au test. Il est possible que des laboratoires génétiques proposent de faire le test génétique avec uniquement un grand-parent, mais nous ne recommandons pas ce choix. Car le manque d'informations génétiques ne permettra pas de vous apporter un résultat d'ADN fiable et précis.

De plus, il est normal de préciser que les deux grands-parents doivent être les parents biologiques du père recherché. 

Faire un test avec la tante OU avec l'oncle :

Vous devez faire le choix du participant entre votre tante et votre oncle. Utiliser l'ADN des deux n'est pas nécessaire pour avoir des résultats génétiques de qualités et le laboratoire risque de vous faire payer le test en double. Par contre, il est très important que le participant choisisse, soit le frère ou la sœur complets du père présumé. ( Ils doivent partager les mêmes parents biologiques) 

Le cousin : 

Faire un test génétique avec un cousin germain ne peut se faire qu'entre des individus de sexe masculin. La comparaison d'ADN va se faire par le biais du chromosome sexuel mâle qui est transmis uniquement de père en fils sur l'ensemble de la lignée paternelle. La condition est que le cousin doit être un descendant de la lignée masculine de votre grand-père. (Le fils de votre oncle ou tout autre descendant masculin exclusivement)

Quel sont les tests ADN disponibles ?

En fonction de votre situation familiale et des participants, plusieurs tests ADN peuvent être utilisés pour répondre à votre doute de paternité.

Le test de Paternité

Pour réaliser un test ADN de paternité vous devez comparer vos gènes à celui d'un père présumé. Cette analyse génétique est la plus fiable est la plus directe pour confirmer le lien de filiation entre les enfants, garçons ou filles et le père testé. La mère biologique n'est pas obligatoire mais peut participer aussi au test.

Le test de Fraternité

Afin de vérifier une paternité commune entre frères et soeurs vous pouvez choisir le test ADN de fraternité. Les analyses génétiques vous proposeront un pourcentage de relation qui peut varier selon vos gènes, il est alors plus intéressant de faire ce test avec plusieurs participants (plus que deux) pour améliorer la précision des résultats. Ainsi que pour ce test l'ajout de votre mère biologique est primordial mais pas obligatoire.

Le test de filiation grands-parents :

L'analyse des gènes entre des petits-enfants et les grands-parents peut se faire avec ce test ADN. Puisque le laboratoire ne possède pas le profil génétique du père présumé, il est important de pouvoir si possible ajouter le profil génétique de votre mère biologique. Le test ne peut être considéré comme fiable qu'avec la participation des deux grands-parents.

Le test de filiation avunculaire ( Tante & Oncle) :

Le test génétique de relation entre un neveu et/ou une nièce peut se faire soit avec la tante soit avec l'oncle. Nous recommandons de croiser les genres pour avoir des gènes plus éloignés et donc un résultat plus fiable : 

- Nièce avec l'oncle

- Neveu avec la tante

L'analyse est toujours en pourcentage de relation, ainsi il est toujours recommandé d'inclure le profil génétique de votre mère biologique si possible.

Le test ADN du chromosome Y

Le test du chromosome Y est aussi fiable que le test de paternité. Il vous donnera une réponse soit positive soit négative en fonction de la situation familiale. Ce test peut être fait qu'avec des individus de sexe masculin afin de déterminer s'ils appartiennent à la même lignée paternelle. Les participants peuvent être : 

- Père présumé

- Oncles

- Grand-père

- Frères

- Cousin germain

Le test ADN du chromosome X : 

Le test du chromosome X est un test avec une très grande précision tout comme le test de paternité ou alors le test de chromosome Y, il vous donnera une réponse soit positive soit négative en fonction de la situation familiale et surtout en fonction des participants. Ce test ne peut être fait qu'entre sœurs ou alors avec la grand-mère paternelle et sa petite fille. Selon le contexte, il est aussi important d'inclure la mère biologique pour avoir des résultats.

Le test de paternité prénatal

Pour cette analyse génétique qui se fait pendant la grossesse quand la mère est encore enceinte, vous devez impérativement faire la comparaison génétique avec le père présumé. Aucun autre membre de la famille ne pourra se substituer au père présumé avant la naissance du bébé. La mère doit fournir un échantillon sanguin et le père, un échantillon salivaire pour le test. 

Accréditation & Fiabilité des tests ADN

La fiabilité d'un test dépend en premier point de l'accréditation de votre laboratoire. Il est très important que les méthodes d'analyses respectent les normes internationales afin de vous assurer un résultat crédible. Mais vous avez aussi d'autres facteurs à prendre en compte pour améliorer cette fiabilité : le type d'échantillon, le choix du test et votre déclaration sont des éléments qui peuvent avoir un impact sur votre test.

Quel échantillon puis-je utiliser ?

Le choix de l'échantillon est une étape importante pour faire un test ADN. En général, les laboratoires recommandent l'utilisation des écouvillons buccaux. Mais selon la situation, il peut être difficile et le choix d'un autre type d'échantillon doit être alors envisagé. Mais vous devez respecter les conditions afin que l'échantillon fournisse assez d'information génétique à votre test ADN